Home » Delay hitch in ODM Primaries in Homa-Bay County

Delay hitch in ODM Primaries in Homa-Bay County

22,846 100

The commencement of ODM party primaries in Homa Bay County have experienced delays as a result of late dispatch of election kits to different polling stations across the county.

Casting of ballots was expected to kick off from 6:30am but up until 10:00am, the distribution of the materials from Homa Bay Boys High School, the main tallying center was ongoing.

The Secretary of ODM National Election Board Abdullahi Diriye said that the delay was a result of the fuel crisis in the country that has slowed down the transport of the election materials.

“Our vehicles did not have enough fuel, therefore, we had to delay while still searching for fuel. But we are moving with haste to ensure that everything goes on smoothly,” said Diriye.

The Secretary added that they have decided to merge some polling centers as per the request from the aspirants for ease of logistics. 

“As a result of the consultations we had with the aspirants, we have merged every three polling centers and we now have a total of 235 centers,” said the Secretary.

He assured the locals that the election process would run smoothly and be free and fair to ensure that they picked representatives of their choice.

The Homa Bay branch primaries will nominate Members of Parliament in two constituencies, Members of County Assembly in 40 wards and the County Woman Representative.

Prior to the primaries, the party had issued direct tickets to the positions of the Governor, Senator and six parliamentary seats.

The tickets had been given to Governor aspirant Gladys Wanga, Senator Moses Kajwang’ and six out of eight MPs in the county.

Karachuonyo and Ndhiwa constituencies are the only ones where the nominations would be conducted, while constituencies, where direct tickets were issued to sitting legislators, included Suba North, Suba South, Kabondo Kasipul, Rangwe, Homa Bay town and Kasipul.

The Woman Representative post has attracted several aspirants including Florence Ouma, Beatrice Ogolla, Lavender Ojala, Molline Ngala, Joyce Osogo, Elizabeth Ogweno and Tabitha Nyandiek.