Home » Three Arraigned in Courts for Election Irregularities

Three Arraigned in Courts for Election Irregularities

141 100

Three Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) officials were charged in a Narok court for involvement in election malpractices at Melelo area in Narok South Sub County.

The three included Ole-Nkainai Primary School Presiding Officer Ms. Elizabeth Naishuru, her Deputy Kiprono Dereva and the police officer attached to the polling station Christopher Lesiman.

The three were arrested on August 10 at Ole- Nkainai Primary School after members of the public raised concern over delays in transporting election materials to the constituency tallying center.

The investigating Officer Stephen Ndung’u Njuguna told the court that Ms. Naishuru had told her colleagues to be patient as she would decide when to seal the box.

However, the agents in the room realized that the boxes had not been sealed hours after the counting was completed, raising eyebrows on what could be afoot.

He told the court that later, the members of the public stormed the polling station and destroyed electoral materials, which included marked and unmarked ballot papers.

The investigating officer blamed the Presiding Officer and her deputy for their ignorance and negligence which resulted in the destruction of electoral materials.

The police officer on the other hand was blamed for not stopping the chaos or calling for reinforcement despite being armed and watched as the election materials were destroyed.

Narok Senior Magistrate Ms. Phylis Shinyada gave the investigating officer ten days to conclude investigations. The case will be heard on August 22, 2022